:: One Day – “Whatever happens tomorrow, we’ll have today” ::

I was home from work for a day last week with my little one. We puttered around and had far too much screen time.

Her choice was watching Kinder Surprise Eggs being opened. I’m not making this stuff up. She’d watch hours of this stuff if she could. I have no idea how she came across it, likely clicking a random link while watching Max and Ruby on youtube or something. It is so odd, this Kinder Surprise channel. Since she started watching it she’s asked to make her own video – very strange. The only thing more odd that I’ve caught her watching was Baby Alive videos. She doesn’t even have a Baby Alive. Monitor your child’s screen time people.

My choice was:

one_day_poster_285

source

I’ve watched this movie over a handful of times. It must be a Movie Central favourite, it is always on. And I think it is one of mine now too. Here is the trailer for it, including cheesy-announcer-guy-voiceover.

If you think you might actually want to see the movie, stop reading here. Spoilers ahead.

The film is about Emma (Anne Hathaway) and Dex (Jim Sturgess) who meet and spend the day together, their graduation date, July 15th, 1988. You can tell right away that Emma has the hots for Dex, but he’s just not feeling it. She’s a little dorky, and he’s a bit of a playboy used to having anyone he wants. Their first day together just hanging out ends in a passionate kiss. I think this kiss always gave Emma a bit of hope that one day they’d be together. 

The first time I saw the movie, it was sort of on in the background while I did other stuff around the house. I can’t say I really paid much attention to it. I’m not a huge Anne Hathaway fan, yet every film she’s in is usually worth watching (this scene from The Dark Knight Rises comes to mind).

Because One Day is the title of the film, and from the snippets I caught, I thought instead of the movie being about the one day they met, July 15th, I thought it was about waiting for that one day that Dex finally saw what was right in front of him. Emma.

Halfway through the film, it seemed as though Emma had given up on Dex. When she sees him after some time apart she can’t help but be pulled back to those old feelings for him. Her line “I thought I got rid of you” makes you ache a little for her. She had tried to build a life with another poor schmo Ian, a comedian that she doesn’t find funny. And she had tried to move Dex into a place in her heart and mind that would allow her to have a happy life without him.  

She did one day end up with Dex. It took them many years and relationships, a wedding and a baby (for Dex) for it to happen. And I think even when Dex married the woman others expected him to marry, Emma always remained on his mind.

one-day07

source

They were only together for about a year when Emma dies. It is tragic, she was hit by a truck while riding her bycicle home to see Dexter. Oh how I cried.

After Emma’s death Ian finds Dex at the cafe he runs and tells him:

“She made you decent, and in return, you made her so happy.”

No matter the crap Dex put Emma through, watching him devour women, drugs and other awful self-harming behaviour, he made her happy.

Good movie, worth a watch.

“Whatever happens tomorrow, we’ll have today.”-Emma

Leave a comment